Four Okaloosa County Municipalities Hold Elections

Destin is joining the ranks of almost every other major city in the state, creating a tourism bed tax.

That's just one of the top issues for Okaloosa County voters participating in four different city elections Tuesday.

The creation of a special district and a council to oversee the two percent bed tax collection money was the only issue on Destin's ballot. It passed overwhelmingly with 72 percent of the voters say "yes" create a bed tax. Only 27 percent voted against it. The vote now goes to the Florida legislature for approval.

Ft. Walton Beach voters elected a mayor and three City Council members. Mike Anderson beat Bill Kuhn and Shirley Parker as he picked up 72 percent of the vote.

Wayne Pullen edged out Glenda Glover for the City Council Seat 5 with nearly 54 percent of the vote. Jim Hartwell picked-up almost 60 percent of the vote to beat Dean Covey for Council Seat 6, and Mike Minich wins Seat 7, getting 65 percent of the vote to Judy Flasco's 35 percent.

In Crestview, voters chose Chip Wells over Kathleen Bowman for the precinct 1 council seat by a 61 percent to 39 percent margin, and Brenda Bush beat Bob Allen by almost 20 percent to win the precinct 3 seat.

In Laurel Hill voters elected James Dunn to the mayor's job with 86 percent over Mike Blizzard's 14 percent and Vizell Robbins (48 percent) and Jeffery Sory (41 percent) were the top two vote-getters for two City Council seats. Joan Smith was the odd candidate out.

The voters also agreed to move the Laurel Hill regular council meetings from the first Thursday to the second Thursday of each month.