Five Hurricane Names Retired From Last Year's Storms

Never again will there be a Hurricane Katrina, or Dennis, Rita, Stan or Wilma.

The five hurricane names from last year's devastating storms have now been officially retired.

The decision to retire the five names was made by an international committee of the World Meteorological Organization meeting in Puerto Rico. They were part of a record 27 named storms and 15 hurricanes that occurred in 2005.

Last year's five is the most retired in a single year. Sixty seven names have been retired since storms were first named in 1953.

Six lists of names are usually used in rotation for storms in the Atlantic-Caribbean-Gulf of Mexico region, but names of particularly destructive storms are retired.

The retired names will be replaced by Don, Katia, Rina, Sean and Whitney.

This year's hurricane names will be: Alberto, Beryl, Chris, Debby, Ernesto, Florence, Gordon, Helene, Isaac, Joyce, Kirk, Leslie, Michael, Nadine, Oscar, Patty, Rafael, Sandy, Tony, Valerie, William.