Tuesday Is Election Day in Three Bay County Cities

Voters in Callaway, Lynn Haven and Panama City Beach do go to the polls for a varied list of races.

In Callaway, incumbent commissioners Charles Griffin and Shannon Aufdencamp are each facing two challengers. Harvey L. Cox and Dennis A. DeLapp are trying to unset Griffin and Tom Abbott and Carl L. Sauls are running against Ms. Aufencamp

Callaway does not have a runoff election, so the top vote-getter in each race wins.

In Lynn Haven, Mayor Walter Kelly is facing a challenge from Richard T. Walker. And Commissioner Antonius "Gen" Barnes has James M. Dean as an opponent and Frances Wittkopf is being challenged by Anna Vera Yingling.

Veteran Panama City Beach councilman Bill Mathieu is out because of term limits. Jeff Ferguson or Lee Kinner will replace him. And incumbent councilperson Debbie Sasser is facing opposition from retired police officer Bobby Bolton.

Beach voters also have three referendums on the ballot. First, should the contracting authority of the city manager be increased to $10,000? Can non-emergency ordinances be passed on two separate readings, and should the city charter be amended to allow candidate election by a plurality vote?

The Super Tuesday polls open at 7:00 Tuesday morning and close at 7:00 p.m. Be sure you have some type of picture identification with you when you go vote.