Ballot Is Set for the Upcoming Elections

Almost every candidate who had declared their candidacy before qualifying earlier has officially filed the necessary paperwork to be on the ballot. All but one, that is

Springfield Police Chief Sam Slay did not turn in his paperwork for the Bay County Sheriff's race. Slay announced his candidacy for the Democratic nomination around the first of the year.

He told NewsChannel Seven he's decided against running for sheriff at this time, leaving the Democratic nomination to David Slusser. Slusser will now face the August 31 Republican primary winner for Sheriff, either Mike Jones or Frank McKeithen.

The Republican and Democratic primaries are on Tuesday, August 31.

There is no runoff this year. The winners of the primaries will face each other in the November general election.

Four local politicians are unopposed and are automatically re-elected to another four year term. Supervisor of Elections Mark Andersen will keep his position and Tax Collector Peggy Brannon will stay in office as well for another term.

And, State Rep. Allan Bense wins another two year term in the Florida house. Public Defender for the 14th Judicial Circuit, Herman Laramore
was also re-elected without opposition.