Flood Assisstance

State Emergency Management Officials are requesting federal authorities make disaster relief available to 7 additional Florida counties, due to the flooding in late April and early May.

The state sent the request to FEMA today, asking the agency to help flood victims in Bay, Calhoun, Dixie, Holmes, Jackson, Suwannee, and Washington counties.

Each of these counties received damages from a huge storm system that dumped as much as 20-inches of rain on some parts of the panhandle from April 28th through May 6th.

State and federal have already approved public and individual assistant for victims in Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton and Jackson counties.

If this request is approved, the 7 additional counties would receive assistance to repair damages to public infrastructure only.

That would includes grants for publicly-owned facilities that were damaged, debris removal and to recover the cost of emergency protective measures.