Individual Assistance Requested For Jackson County to Aid in Flooding Recovery

MARIANNA, Fla. A request was made seeking federal Individual Assistance for Jackson County. This Individual Assistance, if approved, will aid in recovery from the recent flooding in the Florida Panhandle.

Escambia and Santa Rosa Counties were designated for Individual Assistance on May 6. Walton and Okaloosa counties were designated on May 13. Residents in the declared counties are being assisted by Disaster Recovery Centers that opened in their communities.

Disaster Recovery Centers are temporary facilities located in or near the impacted area where survivors can go to obtain disaster related information. Centers are staffed with specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the State Emergency Response Team (SERT), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and a variety of disaster-recovery representatives from local and voluntary agencies.

From April 28 through May 6, a severe weather system brought torrential rains to the Northern Florida Gulf Coast. Governor Scott signed Executive Order 14-144, declaring a State of Emergency for 26 Florida Counties on April 30. Two Florida rivers, the Santa Fe and Choctawhatchee, reached major flood stage, while three additional rivers reached moderate flood stage and 14 reached minor flood stage.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus