The beginning date for Florida's newly enacted minimum wage will be May 2, 2005.
Florida's minimum wage was created in a constitutional amendment approved by voters last November. It covers all employees in the state covered by the federal minimum wage.
The state minimum wage will start at $6.15 per hour for all hours worked in Florida and then be indexed to inflation each year on January 1.
For tipped employees meeting eligibility requirements for the tip credit under the law, employers may count tips actually received as wages towards satisfaction of the minimum wage, but the employer may not pay less than $3.13 per hour in direct wages.
Employees who are not paid the minimum wage after May 2 may file a lawsuit against any employer or any person violating Florida's minimum wage law.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.