Obama Declares 11 Florida Counties Disaster Areas

WASHINGTON (AP) -- President Obama has declared 11 Florida counties a disaster area for damage sustained during Tropical Storm Isaac.
The declaration signed Thursday makes federal funding available to state local governments.
Isaac hit Florida in late August. The Tampa Bay Times reports the Federal Emergency Management Agency denied Gov. Rick Scott's request for funding in September. aac hit Florida in late August.
Scott moved to appeal the decision. He said the damage was about $10 million worse than originally thought. Damage from Isaac is estimated at 36.6 million.
The Times reports it was unclear why the decision was reversed.
The following counties are now eligible for federal funding: Bay, Collier, Escambia, Franklin, Martin, Monroe, Okaloosa, Palm Beach, St. Lucie and Santa Rose counties.

8195 Front Beach Road Panama City Beach, FL 32407 Station: 850-234-7777 News: 850-230-5221 Fax: 850-233-6647
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 174950531 - wjhg.com/a?a=174950531
Gray Television, Inc.