Auburn quarterback Cam Newton named the A.P. player of the year!

It's yet another reason for Cam Newton to be clearing space on the mantle. The Auburn quarterback picking up yet another postseason honor Wednesday. He's been named the A.P. player of the year, getting 51 of the 60 first place votes cast in the balloting. Kellen Moore was second with 3 votes. Newton's numbers this year, 25 hundred yards and 28 touchdowns passing, another 14 hundred yards and 20 touchdowns rushing. He broke the single-season SEC rushing record for a quarterback in the eighth game, a 28-carry, 217-yard effort against LSU. All that leading Auburn to a 13 and oh record, the SEC Championship and a berth in the BCS title game against Oregon out in Arizona January 10th. Newton's already hauled in the Heisman, the Davey O'brien and Maxwell awards for his play this season.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus