Jameis One of 6 Heisman Finalists

Nov 9, 2013; Winston-Salem, NC, USA;Florida State Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston (5) stands on the field during the first quarter against the Wake Forest Demon Deacons at BB&T Field. Florida State defeated Wake Forest 59-3. Mandatory Credit: Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

Tallahassee, FL---Most fans, especially those in this region, believe it's a fait accompli. As of Monday night, the list of Heisman finalists is out, and FSU quarterback Jameis Winston is one of those 6.

In fact Fort Walton Beach and Florida alum Danny Wuerffel doing the honor of announcing those 6 finalists Monday night on ESPN!

Wuerffel actually got to Jameis Winston last, but only because he was listing the 6 finalists in alphabetical order.

Winston will head to New York late this week with NIU quarterback Jordan Lynch, Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M, Auburn's Tre Mason, Bama's AJ McCarron, and Boston College running back Andre Williams.

Most college football observers believe though the trophy will go to Winston, the redshirt freshman out of Bessemer Alabama who's helped lead FSU to a 13-0 record and the ACC Championship.

And oh yeah a berth in the BCS Championship game early next month in Pasadena.

The announcement on that game coming Sunday night, and here's how some of the players involved reacted to that, starting with FSU senior linebacker Telvin Smith.

"It's very special. Just this team, all the camraderie and the hard work we put in since the spring, over the summer. And we knew where we wanted to go. Now that we got there, it means a lot to us. Now we've just got to go finish."

As for the Auburn players, it's been quite a turnaround since last season, so says junior running back Tre Mason.

"At this time last year we were home, hanging out, watching other guys play ball. That's not really what you want to be doing. So we're proud to be in this situation, happy to be in the national title."

Mason by the way named SEC Offensive Player of the Year, his Coach Gus Malzahn named Coach of the Year. Manziel the first team All-SEC quarterback.