BAY COUNTY, Fla. (WJHG) - The Florida Highway Patrol is cracking down on the state's texting while driving law. Jordan McCool was live with some state troopers with what drivers need to know.
Although the law took effect in July 2019, law enforcement used the rest of 2019 to educate people on their distracted driving campaign. Now, officials are cracking down.
Under the new law, a first texting offense will be punishable by a $30 fine and court fees. A second offense carries a $60 fine, court costs and related fees, and three points on a driver’s license. A first offense involving texting in school or construction zones also carries additional license points.
January is also "Move Over" month in Florida, a way to remind people to move over to a different lane for stopped emergency and service vehicles.
The move over law was created in 2002 and is meant to keep people safe and from hitting emergency vehicles who are pulled over. This law includes tow trucks, road rangers, and sanitation vehicles.
For more information, watch Jordan's full interview.
Copyright 2020 WJHG. All rights reserved.