Qualifying period ends for local elections

PANAMA CITY, Fla. (WJHG-WECP) - As qualifying period ended for four municipalities, two city mayors found themselves re-elected.

Callaway Mayor Pamn Henderson and Springfield Mayor Ralph Hammond were not challenged when the noon deadline hit Friday, automatically re-electing them in their positions.

In Callaway, Melba Covey will face Scott Davis for the Commissioner Ward 1 seat. For Ward 2, David Griggs is facing Wayne McLeod.

In Mexico Beach, Jerry Wallace was elected to the group 4 seat and Rex Putnal was elected to the Ward 1 seat.

Paul Casto was elected to the Panama City Beach City Council Ward 1 seat. The race for Ward 3 includes Geoff McConnell, Skip Stoltz, Colleen Swab and Burnie Thompson.

There are two candidates for Springfield Commissioner in Ward 3: Jack Kennington and Beth McLean. In Ward 4, Topeka Humphries was elected, as she was unopposed.