Chipley's Dean Named 1A State Offensive Player Of The Year

GAINESVILLE, FL (WJHG/WECP) Thursday turned into a rather big day for Chipley junior Kelvin Dean.
Not only did he participate in a first round state playoff game, as the Tigers took on Port St. Joe in the 1A Region Semifinals, Dean also getting some statewide accolades.

He was voted as the state's 1A offensive player of the year by

Dean a six foot running back, rushed for 1,836 yards In all he had over 2,100 all purpose yards, and scored 26 touchdowns.

Kelvin already entertaining offers from the likes of Cincinnati, UAB, South Alabama, Middle Tennessee, among others.

Chipley, Blountstown and St. Joe well represented in the first team
Below is the complete list of first team All State players:

*The Florida All-State teams are selected by Publisher Joshua Wilson along with nominations submitted by coaches and a review of All-Area and All-County teams as published by various publications across the state. Teams that are classified independent by the FHSAA, including those in the Sunshine State Athletic Conference, were placed in the proper classification in which they would be assigned to for All-State purposes.


Most Valuable Player: RB/UT Derrick Staten Jr., Sr., Madison County
Offensive Player of the Year: RB Kelvin Dean, Jr., Chipley
Defensive Player of the Year: DL La’Tarie Kinsler, So., Pahokee
Coach of the Year: Eric Richeson, Cross City Dixie County


QB – Jaxson Beach, So., Mayo Lafayette
QB – Naykee Scott, So., Crescent City
RB – Kelvin Dean, Jr.., Chipley
RB – Teryon Henderson, Sr., Madison County
RB – Denzel Washington, Sr., Blountstown
RB – Deonta McMahon, Sr., Frostproof
WR – Da’Shon Davis, Jr., Monticello Jefferson County
WR – Ben Massey, Jr., Mayo Lafayette
WR – Jeremiah James, So., Williston
OL – Ta’Ronn Johnson, Sr., Madison County
OL – Cleveland Reed, Sr., Fort Meade
OL – Damian Tucker, Sr., Frostproof
OL – Brian Williams, Sr., Chipley
OL – Eli Morgan, Sr., Mayo Lafayette
UT – Derrick Staten Jr, Sr., Madison County
UT – Aaron Dawson Jr., Sr., Cross City Dixie County
ATH – Tre Adams, Sr., Madison County
ATH – Junior McLaughlin, Jr., Baker
K – Christian Lopez, So., Crescent City


DL – Terray Jones, Sr., Madison County
DL – Alvin Dempsey, Sr., Port St. Joe
DL – La’Tarie Kinsler, So., Pahokee
DL – Rashuan Smith, Sr., Baker
DL – Michael Police, Sr., Pahokee
LB – Zach Brown, Sr., Baker
LB – Jonathan Alexander, Sr., Madison County
LB – Zac Wilson, Jr., Chipley
LB – Tucker Jordan, Sr., Blountstown
DB – Travis Jay, Jr., Madison County
DB – Derek Peoples Jr, Jr., Baker
DB – Malik Jennings, Jr., Mayo Lafayette
DB – De’vuntray Hampton, Sr., Pahokee
DB – Quinyon Mitchell, Jr., Williston
UT – Keandre Grant, Jr., Port St. Joe
UT – Kevon Godwin, Sr., Blountstown
ATH – James Smith, Sr., Cross City Dixie County
ATH - Zayne Whipple, Sr., Crescent City
P – Drew Herring, Sr., Madison County