Golf tournament for Torbett funds memorial scholarship

MARIANNA, Fla. (WJHG/WECP) - The good name and character of Riley Torbett continues to live on through the generosity of the community.

Indian Springs Golf Club hosts the inaugural Riley Torbett Memorial Golf Tournament Saturday and Sunday. The proceeds will go towards a memorial scholarship to Chipola awarded annually to a member of the Bulldogs baseball team who best embodies the qualities Riley demonstrated every day.

"It's not because you're the best baseball player," Riley's father Rex said. It's not because you're the smartest baseball player. It's not because you're the most needy baseball player. Caring about your teammates, caring about your coaches, loving on people. Now he was a normal teenager, so he could be a turd at times! But he did love Christ and he did love others."

The event format is a three man scramble. Entry fees are $100 dollars per person. 21 teams signed up, totaling more than $2,000, plus additional donations and 24 hole sponsors. Marianna baseball head coach Bobby Hughes organized the tournament to keep Riley's name attitude alive.

"I wanted to do something special for Riley and I thought by doing this tournament, it would be the best way to honor him where he could give back every year to our program," Hughes said. "He was such a special Christian individual."

The golf tournament is the latest in a string of fundraisers since Torbett's death in an ATV accident just before he was set to graduation from Marianna in May. The Torbett family continues to be grateful for the outpouring of love.

"You don't get support like this in a big city, the way our community has rallied around our family," Rex Torbett said. "Not cooking meals in our hours...we're in the process of moving at the same time and there's been eight or ten people at my house loading furniture and moving stuff while I'm playing golf. It's just awesome the amount of support we've gotten through everything that we're doing."

The Chipola scholarship is one of at least four that Torbett believes will be handed out next year in conjunction with other organizations.

The first place winners were Hardy Smith, Chris Tyre, and Logan Justice.

The second place winners were Gino Mayo, Matt Milton, and Kenny Hamm.

The third place winners were Evan Dykes, Lee Temples, and Michael McCord