West Florida fends off Minnesota State, wins national championship

MCKINNEY, Tex. (WJHG/WECP) - West Florida's "Trap Tour" ends with another win away from home—another upset—and the program's first national championship.

The Argos (13-2) outgunned Minnesota State (14-1) 48-40, setting multiple offensive records and holding off a late Mavericks charge to win the Division II title in Texas.

True freshman quarterback Austin Reed passed for 523 yards and six touchdowns (both records), with 399 yards and 5 TD coming in the first half to build a 38-21 advantage at the break.

Receivers set records as well, with Quentin Randolph tying the title game mark with three touchdowns and 254 yards, while Tate Lehtio raised the bar by hauling an unparalleled 13 receptions.

Defensive lineman and Bay alum Daryl Wilson forced a fumble in the third quarter, finishing his collegiate career with four tackles.

UWF entered the playoffs ranked No. 20 in the nation, beating No. 16 Wingate, No. 1 Valdosta State, No. 6 Lenoir Rhyne, No. 2 Ferris State, and No. 4 Minnesota State to claim the crown.

The roster includes several players of area relevance, including backup quarterback Peyton Calhoun (Mosley), linebacker Trey Mathews (Blountstown), defensive lineman Stephen Mathews (Blountstown), offensive lineman Dalton Simpler (Freeport), offensive lineman Josh Del Grego (Fort Walton Beach), and aforementioned starter Wilson (Bay).

The Argos are flying back to Pensacola Saturday night.

Copyright 2019 WJHG. All rights reserved.