Three area teachers honored with Governor's Shine Award

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WJHG/WECP) - Thursday during a Florida Cabinet meeting, Governor Rick Scott recognized seven outstanding educators with the Governor’s Shine Award.

The Shine Award is given to teachers and administrators in Florida who make significant contributions to the field of education. All of the teachers who were honored are also 2017 district teachers of the year.

Three of the educators honored are from our area.

Marissa Ballard, a Jackson County Kindergarten teacher, has eight years’ experience at Sneads Elementary School. She is the 2011 Jackson County Rookie Teacher of the Year, 2017 District Winner of the Smart/Maher VFW National Citizenship Education Teacher Award and the 2017 Jackson County District Teacher of the Year.

Gregory Barron of Bay County has been teaching for six years at A. Crawford Mosley High School in Lynn Haven, where he teaches 10th and 12th grade Advanced Placement (AP) Microeconomics, AP Macroeconomics, and AP Human Geography. He was the Mosley Advanced Placement Program for Success (MAPPS) Teacher of the Year from 2013-2016, is the 2017 AP Teacher of the Year, and the 2017 Bay County District Teacher of the Year.

A veteran teacher with 12 years’ experience, Lana Harrison of Gulf County teaches Biology, Anatomy and Physiology Honors, and Health Science at Wewahitchka High School. She is the 2010 and 2017 Wewahitchka High School Teacher of the Year, the 2017 Gulf County District Teacher of the Year, and a member of the Florida Teacher Lead Network.

“I am proud to present these outstanding educators with the Governor’s Shine Award [Thursday] and thank them for their commitment to ensuring all students reach their full potential. The educators honored at [Thursday]’s Cabinet meeting represent Florida’s high-quality teachers who dedicate their lives to preparing students for success in college and career.”